RSS

Anthesteria…day 3 questions.

06 Mar

I posed this over at Sannion’s since he has a much larger audience.

The final day of Anthesteria, Khutroi,  is given over to the dead. Close your shrines so they aren’t contaminated by the miasma, and that pagan concept of thinned veils, and all of that.

And that…just didn’t seem to happen here. I’m sure it did elsewhere, but here in Central Illinois, I got nothing. I can’t say I’m the most attuned to the dead, but I usually get the tingle that something strange is going on. Nothing.

So, fellow pagans, what do you do in this sort of situation, where it just doesn’t seem appropriate to do your planned rituals and festivities?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Anthesteria…day 3 questions.

  1. Sanna

    March 6, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    Sometimes I’ll wait a few days until it feels right, but other times it will just never “get there”. There are times you start the ritual and as you go along it all falls into place, and it ends up being really successful, and other times you put it off and are really glad you did because it works out very well… and then there are times where you put it off and it seems to get worse and worse and you wish you’d done it earlier.

    When it just isn’t working, in the end the only thing to do really is write it all down, chalk it up to experience and try again next year. Sometimes it just doesn’t gel, because of circumstances or environment or personal mood or something else you can’t put your finger on. It’s depressing but what can one do?

     
    • Nuri

      March 6, 2012 at 9:35 pm

      Part of me is wondering if this years reluctant melancholy (because I had a similar problem on the second day) has anything do with just how strange the weather has been. Hear me out. Anthesteria is one of the festivals that has a strong seasonal component to me, the beginnings of spring through the snow and gloom.

      Normally, Anthesteria is almost a month earlier, and there’s usually a lot more winter here. We didn’t really have one here this year, in fact, its about 20 degrees warmer today than it usually is.

      Huh that leaves me with a thinky type thought about a theme for the festival as emergence. I think it may be time to hit the books.

       
      • Sanna

        March 6, 2012 at 9:49 pm

        I understand totally. Like, it never feels right welcoming in winter when it’s sunny and warm. That’s one of the problems with seasonal calendars that are skewed to areas one doesn’t live in – but even then not every year is going to have the right sort of weather. Last winter was pretty short and fairly warm, for us, so when spring happened along I didn’t feel right about it at all. It felt far too soon to be celebrating spring when we hadn’t even had a proper winter. I was in a mood about it for weeks.

         
  2. Shearaha

    March 8, 2012 at 7:27 am

    I wait. Not everything falls neatly into a callender. So I wait until it feels right, or I may try and do it anyway. But that’s yet to work out for me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
