RSS

Pain is exhausting

02 Sep

I’m not sure what did it. Maybe it was Sunday’s hafla, although I took pains to not overdo myself, but Monday became the start of a painful week. Actually, it was probably me telling my doc on Friday that my hip hasn’t been bugging me that did it.

First, the hafla went great. I had people telling me that I look really relaxed when I dance, and that’s something I’ve been wanting to work on. I’m really glad I edited my piece too, there were a lot of kids there, young ones too. I spent a lot of time on the side playing and dancing with them, and keeping an injured friend company.

But yeah, Monday started off okay but as the day went on and I had no painkillers, I finally said screw it and left work early and went straight for my stronger painkillers. Tuesday was better, but it was constant enough that I came home and slept before doing anything. Class the next day was perfect, but I’ve been stiff since.

Part of it is that I’ve been stupid enough to have inflammatory foods. But I’ve certainly slowed down this week, which is good in one respect, but not so much if you look at my house. Combine that with a truly aggravating situation with my pharmacy not giving me my medication, so I was taking less effective old pills for much of this week and I have been slow, unfocused and just truly out of sorts.

I’m almost done making my cut for the showcase performance. I just have to do a little fiddling with the fade at the end, so that it sounds intentional. I want to get my fiddly stuff done while my hip is acting up so that next week I can start the choreography process.

It’ll get better. It always does.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
