RSS

Hellenic Devotional? Your thoughts?

03 Aug

Growing up, one of my favorite times of the year (depending on whether or not I was an eye-rolling teenager) was advent. My family lit candles on an advent wreath, sang and read from a little booklet that was available from the Church. These little readings were meant to focus our thoughts on the birth of Jesus, and prepare our minds and thoughts for Christmas. They were never very long, maybe 5 minutes at most, and it was a great little time out for the day.

I’m sure I would have enjoyed it more if I wasn’t a little ADHD brat.

But a project that’s been weighing on my mind is to do a little devotional booklet like this one — a month-long one. Little stories, prayer suggestions, meditation on values, gods — that sort of thing. Partially for myself, but also a community resource. The Hellenic community has gotten into devotional anthologies in a big way for poetry and short stories, but not really like this. I’d like to offer it in an e-book format.

What I want to ask the community at large is: What would you want to see in something like this? A Theme? Suggested topics? And what do you think about the project in general.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Hellenic Devotional? Your thoughts?

  1. Ruadhan

    August 4, 2011 at 6:46 am

    Instantly, I thought of the Rural Dionysia, cos it’s around the same time of the year and lasts over two weeks.

     
    • Nuri

      August 4, 2011 at 5:09 pm

      I was thinking the same thing. And it’s not quite as daunting for a first project as a full month!

       
      • Ruadhan

        August 9, 2011 at 2:03 am

        This is also true.

         
  2. San

    August 5, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    I’d loooove to read something like this. I don’t know enough about Hellenism to give any sort of ideas, but I love devotionals, I love the idea, and I think it would help newbies a great deal. I’d totally download it ❤

     

Leave a Reply

 
