RSS

My walls might as well be bookshelves….

23 Jul

Today, with the help of my sister-in-law, I redid my bookshelves.

First, we pulled everything out: couple hundred books on the floorThen, we weeded, reorganized them around the room and amongst the different shelving units we have. So far, since I started uncluttering our bookshelves, we’ve weeded out about a hundred or so books.  My husband, who has an attachment to books that borders slightly on obsessive, contributed the most today. I am not kidding when I say that I am proud of him.

And our two main bookshelves now look like this:

Books neatly placed on the shelfAnd yes, that’s me wearing the hippy skirt today. I actually conquered the corner of doom too, instead of a mass of fabric bins, I changed it into the crates you see on the left.  It looks better, even if it is still plastic crates. We’re having to condense all of my husbands office back into our room, and well, storage is storage.

The best part? Only the sci-fi/fantasy section is double stacked. We’d be able to fit everything single stacked with one more shelf. This is a great accomplishment. Shelf on the left is non-fiction, poetry, magazines, and Shakespeare and on the right is fiction.

Bookshelves not pictured:

  • Ikea shelf from the 80’s filled with more sci-fi, kidlit (as opposed to YAlit), teaching texts, reference materials
  • Altar with pagan books
  • My to be read shelf
  • the living room “books from D&D settings” collections
  • The UBER-NERD shelf: manga/comics, gaming books, oversized, SF tie-in novels, SF/F anthologies
  • The built-in shelves with my old book collection and our first editions
  • The kitchen cookbook shelving.

We do not have a book problem here. No sir, books are never a problem. We decorate with books here! But I like it better now that we’ve reorganized. I feel less stressed out and without the stacks everywhere, I feel less boxed in.  I long for a library room someday though. With matching shelving, but this will do for now.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “My walls might as well be bookshelves….

  1. krueger66

    July 29, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    Wow, that looks like my bookshelves. We just moved, and I hadn’t even unpacked all my books form the previous move. I feel like there are bookshelves everywhere, and there’s still boxes of books. I should really try to purge but I’m hoping to have my own classroom soon and then I can migrate all the YA and “classic” literature books there.

     
    • Nuri

      July 29, 2011 at 6:17 pm

      My YAlit is all in one section. The future classroom books are in one that isn’t pictured. I really hope he gets a job so we can free up more space for more books. When we first moved in I made a fort of books. It was great fun!

       

Leave a Reply

 
