RSS

30 Days of Paganism, Day 29: The future of Paganism

10 Jul

I’m not sure where paganism is going. I think we are going to see more stratification, more differentiation between the broad types. And I don’t see this as a bad thing: Eclectic Paganism is not the same as Reconstruction, which isn’t the same as Traditional Wicca which also isn’t the only type of Religious Witchcraft.

But I also think we are going to see people being aware that labels and lines are able to be blurred and that syncretism is a normal function of religion.  I think we are in a position to do this responsibly, to do it with an eye towards respect, which means calling out people who are, well, doing it wrong. And I think arguing is fun and can be constructive.

Within the circles I run with, paganism looks a little more local, but solitary. Singles and pairs living their lives with their gods, and living honestly. There will be trends and fads, there will be drama and policing. There will be workshops, cons and festivals, most of which I won’t attend.

I think there’s going to be a bigger rise in self-publishing. Right now, there’s a lot of devotionals, but I think there’s a market for more as well.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

One response to “30 Days of Paganism, Day 29: The future of Paganism

Leave a Reply

 
