RSS

30 Days of Paganism Day 24: Personal aesthetics with magic and ritual

31 May

My personal aesthetic is more or less simplicity. I say prayers, give offerings, research, read, sing and dance. I don’t do a whole lot in the way of smells and bells. As I focus on simple living, I found that the trappings mean less and less. I focus on what the gods seem to want more, offerings and reciprocity as well as honor and praise. I like to live through my faith, and while sometimes the mundane looks that way on the outside, on the inside, even cleaning can be an act of worship. Just ask my kitchen, which got a serious act of worship done on it today!

I recently changed up my altar. I ditched most of the decorations I used. No altar cloth. A couple of candles, a focal point for Dionysos and Hestia, a statue that I love, and offering bowl and my prayer beads. It’s been one of the best things I’ve ever done for my spirituality. I’ve been happier as I freed myself from those constraints. I’ll use them when I need to, I still like incense and scents as an offering after all.

So yeah, my personal aesthetic is simplicity. Who would have ever guessed? It’s kind of funny, because I love Catholic Mass where everything means something, even if you aren’t aware of it. That’s a mindfullness of its own, but I’m going through a time where I need to strip away the layers and find what is enough.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “30 Days of Paganism Day 24: Personal aesthetics with magic and ritual

Leave a Reply

 
