RSS

30 Days of Paganism: Day 19 Paganism and my family/friends

10 May

So, I’m not exactly a person that tells people that I’m Pagan. If it comes up, I’m honest. If it doesn’t, there’s no need. Which explains why most of my friends know that I’m pagan, if not the particulars — they read my various journals, we talk, they see my bookshelves and altars at my house.

My family, is a bit trickier. One brother certainly knows. We have the same friends group and I don’t think anyone in my family is stupid. Which means that the other older brother knows and thankfully doesn’t try to convert me. He’s the priest, so I’m thinking he’ll try to be sneakier about it. We have similar interests, ironically — classical sacred music, Classical History. In fact, he bought me Greek Religion!

My parents, though, I have no idea what they know. They’ve referred to me as an atheist, but they’ve seen my room and house. I think we have a don’t ask, don’t tell policy going on. I’ve been reluctant to say anything because of a few conversations we had when I was a teenager.

A few years after my grandmothers death, I got into a conversation with my dad about what happens after you die. He got angry at the idea of Grandma being reincarnated — “You think your grandmother came back as a bug?” I hadn’t really learned how to argue yet, particularly with angry and distraught people and just shut up and resolved not to tell my family unless they asked.

I got out of confirmation, and stopped taking Communion. And they haven’t said anything other than jokes. I almost feel bad that I haven’t said anything, but then, they haven’t asked, and it’s something I’m fairly private (internet notwithstanding). It’ll happen someday.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “30 Days of Paganism: Day 19 Paganism and my family/friends

  1. balladeer

    May 10, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    I understand how unorthodox ideas and conventional families can be an explosive mix! My own early religious leanings went down the tubes in Stephen Daedalus fashion after my mother’s death.

    And I have both a statement and a question for you – the statement is that I just put up my latest mythology article, this time covering the Top Eleven Deities in Aztec Myths- http://glitternight.com/2011/05/10/the-top-eleven-deities-in-aztec-mythology/

    Now the question, since your are The Man when it comes to Dionysiac beverages. Every time I read about the Aztecs I get interested in pulque, their intoxicating ritual drink made from fermented sap of the maguey plant. (The whole, wonderful “indigeno” pagan movement in Mexico is trying to reintroduce the beverage on a large scale) Do you happen to know what it tastes like? None of my colleagues have ever tried it.

     
  2. balladeer

    May 10, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    Sorry – I’m subscribed to your AND Sannion’s blog and I had both blogs up on different screens. The question and statement were meant for him – he encourages me to let him know when I update my mythology entries. The Stephen Daedalus part was meant for your blog, though. Sorry for the mixup!

     
  3. Nuri

    May 10, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    No worries at all! My family is conventional, mostly, excepting we’re also a big geek family as well. I’m thankful for my Catholic upbringing, it’s really informed how I view being involved in faith. But it can be a little tense.

    I’m also the token hippie liberal, so there’s also that. 🙂

     
  4. Eardcwen

    May 11, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    I have the same kind of don’t ask don’t tell policy going on with my parents. They tend to just say, ‘Oh, she’s just a little weird, ya know?’ They know I’m spiritual, but they don’t know much more than that. I’d tell them if they asked, but neither of them have.

    Most of my friends are spiritually inclined, so we often talk about paganism/spirituality together. When I had a lot of atheist or agnostic friends, it was only something I shared if I was asked.

     

Leave a Reply

 
