RSS

Working for the weekend

11 Aug

It’s been a whirlwind around these here parts the past couple of weeks. Exercise has totally taken a back burner, with the exception of dance class. It’s a natural extension of my life right now. First the good news, I got a new position at work. I will be moving from the call center to a cushy insurance position where I get to compare products and shop. The bad? I don’t start until the 7th.

To say that I’m counting down the days is severely an understatement. I’ve already started mentally checking out at the call center, despite having been named one of the best employees in the last quarter. Mostly, I’ve just been working 10-11 hour days, and some weekend hours for the overtime. By the time I get home, I just veg. Spiritually, it’s not a good place for me.

There has been progress though. Weekends are still times to get things done. I’m slowly but steadily plodding through “Mysticism” by Evelyn Underhill. It’s seriously a modernism mysticism, and it’s a struggle to not argue simply from post-modern grounds. It’s been a long time since I’ve really engaged with a text, so it’s also really fun. I’ve been prepping a post with quotes and thoughts on it.

Over the weekend, as thanks to Hermes, I put together a set of prayer beads for him and I’m working on putting together the prayers to go with it. It’s a smaller set, meant to go in my mini work altar. I plan on making a prayer card to go in the altar. I’ll have pictures later, after I steal my camera back from my roommate.

I also started putting together a formal prayer card for my Dionysos prayer beads. I just need to find glue to finish it. Every stick I find in the house is dried out!

I also baked bread, which is probably the closest thing to a ritual practice I had this week. I tried a new recipe, a very basic french bread. It went together very easily, and kneaded like a dream as I sang and prayed and offered to Hestia and Demeter. The loaves are fantastic for sandwiches, and I have ideas on how to make them better. The only downside is how long it takes! It has three rises! I’ll have to start it much earlier next time.

I just haven’t been able to do much formal ritual lately, and I’m suffering for it. However, I’m starting to make out my new schedule to include set time for both bike riding and ritual. My new job comes with a major schedule shift, and I’m not a late riser. Despite a later shift, I’ll probably still wake before 7am, take a bike ride/dance/yoga, shower and do more ritual than I am doing now. And knowing myself, still fall asleep before 11!

I know I probably don’t have the readership to really get a good response, but is there anything anyone would like to know about me, about my “practice” or beliefs? Consider this an ask me anything, and I’ll answer~

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Working for the weekend

  1. balladeer

    August 16, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Hang in there! I had to work in a call center long ago. And many of the people were intolerant right-wingers constantly bashing me for my unconventional beliefs. On a cheerier note I have a few pages up at my blog, also here at WordPress, about the Bunyoro mythological pantheon as well as the Navajo pantheon, especially the goddesses Estsanatlehi, Yolkaiestsan, Naste Estsan and Ashiih Estsan. I’m not trying to be a spammer, but given your own obviously passionate interest in these topics I would love for you to share your thoughts with me about these lesser-known, but still fascinating myths. My Navajo page is here:

    http://glitternight.com/navajo-mythology/

    and my Bunyoro page is here: http://glitternight.com/bunyoro-mythology/

     

Leave a Reply

 
