RSS

updates on my public vow

25 Jul

Earlier in the week, I made a vow that I would focus more on doing two things, working out and my spiritual practice. I did okay for the first week. Rain stopped a couple of work outs, and if I didn’t always get 30 minutes of something spiritual (besides reading blogs and connecting with others) then I at least did something during the day. I did hit one snag, and it’s one that will likely carry over into the next week: the glorious and triumphant return of overtime at work. I’ve got bills to pay, so I snatch up as many hours as I feasibly can.

I think this week is going to be learning how to balance this vow with my work schedule, and that’s probably a good thing. To get an idea of the work that I am doing, here’s a list of the things I’ve done: listened to Speaking of Faith on New Monasticism and Ethics of Eating, spent quality time with my prayer beads, danced (a cross over with my exercise goal), read in Evelyn Underhill’s Mysticism, spent time researching on Theoi.com, baked bread and entertained as a devotional activity for Hestia and Demeter and when I am finished with this entry, I’m going to spend time in meditation.

Tomorrow, my hope is to spend time planning out the week and what I do, as well as a ritual calendar for at least a month. I’m not sure what I’ll do for working out, but that will likely depend on my energy level when I get home.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
